The election information in this section of the City of Kaufman website is provided to promote the democratic process.

For complete information regarding Voter Registration and Election in Texas:  Secretary of State and Texas Ethics Commission.

To learn about the Propositions on the May 4, 2019 Special Election Ballot please click here

The Mayor and three (3) Council members shall be elected for two (2) year terms at the general election in odd-numbered years and three (3) Council members shall be elected for two (2) year terms at the general election in even-numbered years. 

The City Secretary's Office is responsible for conducting municipal elections as prescribed by the Election Code of the State of Texas.  The next municipal election will be held on May 4, 2019, to elect Mayor and three (3) Council members.

In accordance with State law, the candidate filing for a place on the ballot will begin on January 16, 2019, at 8:00 a.m. and will end on February 15, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.  Qualified persons may file as a candidate between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  Monday through Friday, at the City Secretary's Office at City Hall, 209 S. Washington Street, Kaufman, Texas 75142.  Candidate packets for the election may be obtained from the City Secretary's Office or the link below. 

Early Voting Locations

May 4th Election Day Polling Location

2019 Candidate Information:

Mayor: Jeff Jordan- Unopposed

Matt Phillips
Patty Patterson
Court Sutton
Chad Martin
Carole Campbell Aga


Each of the candidates for Mayor and Council members shall meet the following requirements set forth by the City of Kaufman’s Charter:  


  1. Shall be at least twenty-one years of age at the time of the election for which they are filing.
  2. Shall be a qualified voter.
  3. Shall have resided within corporate limits of the City, or recently annexed territory, for at least twelve months prior to election day.
  4. Shall not, after notice of any delinquency, be in arrears in payment of taxes or other liabilities due the City.
  5. No candidate may file in a single election for more than one office or position as provided for in this Charter.
  6. No employee of the City shall continue in such position after filing for an elective office provided for in this Charter.

January 16        First day to file for a place on the ballot
February 15      Last day to file for a place on the ballot - General Election
February 22      Last day to withdraw name from the ballot - General Election
April 4               Last day to register to vote
April 22             First day of Early Voting
April 30             Last day of Early Voting
May 4               Election Day

Early Voting by Personal Appearance Days and Hours
April 22-April 26  Monday - Friday         8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
April 27               Saturday                     7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
April 28               Sunday                     11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
April 29-30          Monday - Tuesday     7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Registered voters may vote at any polling place in Kaufman County during early voting. The closest early voting polling place to Kaufman is:

Kaufman County Courthouse Annex

100 S. Washington Street

Kaufman, Texas 75142


Below is a list of all early voting polling places:

1.     Kaufman County Courthouse Annex

100 N. Washington St.

Kaufman, TX 75142

2.     Forney Sub Courthouse    

200 E. Main St.

Forney, TX  75126

3.     Kemp Sub Courthouse

10705 State HWY 34

Kemp, TX 75143

4.     Scurry-Rosser ISD Adm. Bldg

103 N. Main St.

Scurry, TX  75158

5.     Crandall/Combine Community Center

500 W. Lewis/FM 3039

Crandall, TX 75114

6.     Mabank City Hall        

129 E. Market St.

Mabank, TX 75147

In addition to early voting and voting on Election Day, the State of Texas mandates that municipalities allow citizens to vote by mail if they meet one of the following requirements:

1.  Age of voter is 65 or over on Election Day
2.  Voter is disabled
3.  Voter is confined in jail
4.  Voter expects to be out of the county on Election Day and during the regular hours for conducting early voting - ballot must be mailed to an address outside the county.

Applications for a ballot by mail may be submitted any time during the year of the election for which a ballot is requested at the addr
ess below.

Brenda Samples, Early Voting Clerk

Kaufman County Courthouse Annex

100 S. Washington Street

Kaufman, Texas 75142

To receive a ballot application or for more information, please call the City Secretary's Office at (972) 932-2216 or the Kaufman County Elections Administration at (469) 376-4595

On Election Day, voting will take place from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Voters will be required to go to their designated voting location.  Kaufman residents will vote at:

Kaufman County Courthouse Annex

100 S. Washington Street

Kaufman, Texas 75142

  1. Proposition A
  2. Proposition B
  3. Proposition C
  4. Proposition D
  5. Proposition E
  6. Proposition F
  7. Espanol

Passage of Ordinances: An amendment to Section 3.11 of Article III removing the requirement for two (2) readings of ordinances except for franchise ordinances and for ordinances which state law requires two (2) readings, requiring one (1) reading on all other ordinances and providing for Council adoption of an ordinance after consideration at an open public meeting, removing the requirement to use brackets and quotation marks for items removed and added to an ordinance, providing that the placement of an item on the Council agenda providing a brief summary of the subject matter of an ordinance to be considered at an open public meeting suffices as a reading of the ordinance.